Sample

In total, 7802 persons aged between 19 and 91 years and living in Germany were surveyed. If the respondents knew at least three of the listed organizations, they were invited to evaluate the public value contribution of the randomly selected individual organizations according to the four dimensions: quality of life, task fulfillment, social cohesion, and morality.

The market and opinion research institute forsa conducted the survey for the Public Value Atlas Germany 2015 within the scope of forsa.omninet durchgeführt. The latter is a representative panel of the German-speaking population from the age of 14 years. It currently has 30,000 participants, which allows for in-home surveys via the PC or television screen. This survey method combines the advantages of telephone, on-line based, and personal interviews in one system. A representative random sample was drawn from this panel.

Based on the ADM telephone master sample, the panel participants are recruited by means of multistage random sampling, and exclusively off-line by means computer-assisted telephone interviews in the context of a daily multi-topic household survey. Self-selection of participants, as is the case with online panels, is thus ruled out (one cannot “apply” to become a participant). In contrast to the conventional online panels that most institutes offer, also non-Internet users participate in forsa.omninet; consequently, the results also cover this segment of the population.

In order to adjust the initial sample to the data of the official statistics, forsa calculated fitting weighting factors. The current data from the ongoing population census (population, age, gender, structure, etc.) of the Federal Statistical Office of Germany are applied to the extrapolation frame of the initial sample.

Selection of analyzed organizations

The selection of the analyzed companies and organizations was conducted in two steps. 
First a list was created with the most important companies and organizations according to specific criteria, for example, turnover and reach (media). Second, a representative population sample evaluated the selected companies and organizations according to how familiar they were with them. Only the best known organizations were part of the main survey and form part of the Public Value Atlas.

Step 1: Composition of the important organizations

The organizations selected for the data collection include DAX 30 companies (DAX 30, status of May 2015), the 50 largest German companies according to their 2013 turnover (source: Die Welt), the 50 most valuable brands (source: BrandFinance), the 30 largest family owned enterprises according to income (source: Global Family Business Index), the seven most popular financial institutions for salary and current accounts in 2014 (source: Statista), the 20 strongest NGOs (measured according to the number of members and supporters), the six most important insurance companies in 2013 (source: Die Welt), the six largest private health insurance companies according to their 2012 market share (source: Statista), the six largest statutory health insurance companies according to their 2014 membership (source: Statista), the seven highest circulation national daily newspapers in Germany in the 4th quarter of 2014 (source: Statista), the seven TV stations with the largest market share in 2014 (source: Statista), the three largest trade unions of the Federation of German Trade Unions according to membership numbers incl. DGB and dbb (source: Statista), the four largest private hospital operators according to their 2013 turnover (source: Statista), the 17 largest associations according to the membership numbers (source: Deutscher Bundestag - list of the registration of associations) and the six largest soccer clubs according to the number of Facebook fans in 2014 incl. the DFB (source: Statista).

Furthermore, the following organizations from the public sector were included in the survey: Bundesagentur für Arbeit (Federal Employment Office), Bundesverfassungsgericht (Federal Constitutional Court), Bundeswehr (German Armed Forces), Bundespolizei (Federal Police), Bundesanstalt Technisches Hilfswerk (Federal Agency for Technical Relief), Bundesregierung (German Federal Government), Europäische Zentralbank (European Central Bank) and Feuerwehr (fire brigade).

This list comprising 220 companies and organizations was, in a next step, evaluated according to how familiar they were to the respondents.

Step 2: Familiarity inquiry

Only the best known companies and organizations are included in the main survey. In order to identify these, we conducted a preliminary investigation by asking persons living in Germany to evaluate the in step 1 composed list of important organizations in sequence of their familiarity with these organizations. A total of 612 persons participated (min. 147 evaluations per organisation). Only the 127 companies and organizations with a familiarity of 4.0 or above on a scale ranging from 1 till 6 were included in the main survey.

Data collection

Survey period

The anonymous survey took place over a four-week period in July/August 2015.

Questionnaire

In an online questionnaire, items could be evaluated on a Likert scale of 1 to 6 (e.g., Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The (particular organization) complies with accepted standards of morality. 1=disagree; 6=agree).

Pretests

The online questionnaire underwent a pre-test to determine the average processing time and to verify how clearly the questions or statements had been formulated. In addition to a quantitative survey, a qualitative observation pre-test was also conducted, in which the respondents’ reactions during the processing of the questionnaire were documented. In total 105 persons participated.

Familiarity

In the main survey, the respondents could only evaluate organizations if they knew them sufficiently. (Item: Please study this list of German and international companies and organizations. How well do you know these companies and organizations? Please answer the questions by using the scale below, where 1 means you don’t know the company/organization at all and are thus not able to give an opinion. 6 means you know the company/organization and are thus able to give an opinion. You can grade your answer with the scale values of 2 to 5.).

At the beginning of the survey, the respondents were requested to indicate how well they know the individual organizations on a scale from 1-6. Only participants who gave a familiarity score equal to, or greater than 4 were requested to evaluate the public value contribution of these particular organizations.

Public value contribution

If the respondent had sufficient knowledge of the organizations, he/she received a selection of up to six organizations to evaluate their public value contribution.

The measurement of the public value contributions was based on the four dimensions, i.e., task fulfillment, social cohesion, quality of life, and morality:

  • Task fulfillment: This particular organization performs its core business well.
  • Social cohesion: This particular organization contributes to the social cohesion in Germany.
  • Quality of life: This particular organization contributes to the quality of life in Germany. 
  • Morality: This particular organization complies with accepted standards of morality.

The measurement of public value contributions by means of single-item measures is based on earlier studies’ results (see Meynhardt and Bartholomes, 2011, as well as Strathoff and Bilolo, 2014).

Data evaluation

Score building

The public value score provides information on how the German public perceives organizations’ public value contribution. The unweighted average of the evaluation of the four public value dimensions is used to calculate the score. Organizations with a good total score, showed a high value contribution in all four dimensions.

At least 207 persons living in Germany evaluated each of the 127 national and international organizations.

The public value scores ranged from 5.72 and 2.37. These values are valid and/or “true” for the analyzed sample, i.e., the respondents. In order to infer the underlying “true” value applicable to the entire population, a statistical tool, namely the confidence interval, needs to be used. The confidence interval indicates an area, or interval, with a defined probability of being a “true” value. In this way it is possible to cope with the fluctuations or variances in the answers and the number of respondents. A confidence interval with a confidence level of 99.9% was specified to classify the groups. This means there is a 99.9% probability that the “true” value will lie within the identified value range between the upper and lower boundary of the interval. A higher selected confidence level leads to a lower risk of wrong assessments, but a wider interval. The confidence interval is individually calculated for each organization, because they have different characteristics: the number of respondents, the variance, or standard deviation, and the mean.

Group classification

The same principle of the confidence interval was also applied to the mean of all the organizations, forming the basis of the organizations’ classification. The mean of all the organizations is also an estimation based on the means of all organizations. As these fluctuate, the mean of all the organizations also fluctuates.

An organization thus enters the top group if the lowest value of its confidence interval is above the highest value of the confidence interval of the mean of all the organizations. Only then can we maintain that the mean of the particular organization has a 99.9% probability of being above the mean of all the organizations. Consequently, an organization with a higher mean compared to other organizations in the top group may sometimes not be included in this group, due to the marked fluctuations in the answers and, thus, a too wide confidence interval. Under such circumstances, an organization’s confidence interval overlaps the confidence interval of the mean of all the organizations.

Reciprocally, an organization can enter the bottomgroup if the highest value of its confidence interval is below the lowest value of the confidence interval of the mean of all the organizations. More information on this in the FAQ.

Limitationen

The Public Value Atlas includes the biggest and best known international and national companies in Germany, as well as additional selected organizations. Bear in mind that only a section of important German organizations is shown.

The results of the Public Value Atlas must be interpreted as a snapshot. Comparisons ragarding the development of the public value contribution by single organizations in time are not yet possible. It will be interesting to observe their development over further measurement periods in subsequent data surveys.

It should be taken into account that the results relate to a specific cultural context. For example, the public value contribution of internationally active organizations may be evaluated differently in other countries and cultural environments. A comparison with other cultural environments is only possible if the study is also conducted in other countries.

In 2014 and 2015 the study also was conducted in Switzerland (Public Value Atlas Switzerland). Here, it is possible to comprehend single organization´s developments of the public value contribution over time.

Stichprobe

Es wurden insgesamt 7.802 Personen im Alter zwischen 19 und 91 Jahren, die in Deutschland wohnen, befragt. Kannten die Befragten mindestens drei der aufgelisteten Organisationen, wurden sie aufgefordert, für einzelne, randomisiert ausgewählte Organisationen den Beitrag zum Gemeinwohl in den vier Dimensionen Lebensqualität, Aufgabenerfüllung, Zusammenhalt und Moral zu bewerten.

Die Befragung zum GemeinwohlAtlas Deutschland 2015 wurde durch das Markt- und Meinungsforschungsinstitut forsa im Rahmen von forsa.omninet durchgeführt. forsa.omninet ist ein für die deutschsprachige Bevölkerung im Alter ab 14 Jahren repräsentatives Panel mit derzeit 30.000 Teilnehmern, das In-Home-Befragungen am PC bzw. TV-Bildschirm ermöglicht. Diese Befragungsmethode vereint die Vorteile telefonischer, onlinegestützter und persönlicher Befragungen in einer Methode. Aus diesem Panel wurde eine repräsentative Zufallsstichprobe gezogen.

Basierend auf dem ADM-Telefon-Mastersample erfolgt die Rekrutierung der Panelteilnehmer im Rahmen eines mehrstufigen Zufallsverfahrens und zwar ausschließlich offline durch computergestützte Telefoninterviews im Rahmen der täglichen Mehrthemenbefragung. Eine Selbstselektion der Teilnehmer wie bei Online-Panels ist dadurch ausgeschlossen (man kann sich nicht „bewerben“). Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Online-Panels, wie sie von den meisten Instituten angeboten werden, nehmen bei forsa.omninet auch Nicht-Internetnutzer teil, sodass die Ergebnisse auch diesen Teil der Bevölkerung abdecken.

Zur Anpassung der Ausgangsstichprobe an die Daten der amtlichen Statistik berechnete forsa entsprechende Gewichtungsfaktoren. Als Hochrechnungsrahmen für die Ausgangsstichprobe wurden dabei die jeweils aktuellen Daten der laufenden Bevölkerungsfortschreibung (Bevölkerung, Alters- und Geschlechtsstruktur, etc.) des Statistischen Bundesamts verwendet.

Auswahl untersuchter Organisationen

Die Auswahl der untersuchten Unternehmen und Organisationen erfolgte in zwei Schritten.
Im ersten Schritt wurde anhand bestimmter Kriterien, wie z.B. dem Umsatz oder der Anzahl der Mitglieder, eine Liste bedeutender Unternehmen und Organisationen erstellt. Im zweiten Schritt ließen wir die ausgewählten Unternehmen und Organisationen von einer bevölkerungsrepräsentativen Stichprobe auf ihre Bekanntheit hin bewerten. Nur die bekanntesten Organisationen wurden in die Hauptbefragung aufgenommen und sind Bestandteil des GemeinwohlAtlas.

Schritt 1: Zusammenstellung bedeutender Organisationen

Bei den ausgewählten Organisationen für die Datenerhebung handelte es sich um die DAX-30-Unternehmen (DAX 30, Stand Mai 2015), die 50 größten deutschen Unternehmen nach Umsatz in 2013 (Quelle: Die Welt), die 50 wertvollsten Marken (Quelle: BrandFinance), die 30 größten deutschen Familienunternehmen nach Einnahmen (Quelle: Global Family Business Index), die sieben beliebtesten Geldinstitute zum Führen eines Gehalts- und Girokontos 2014 (Quelle: Statista), die 20 beteiligungsstärksten Nichtregierungsorganisationen (gemessen an der Zahl der Mitglieder und Unterstützer), die sechs wichtigsten Versicherungen in 2013 (Quelle: Die Welt), die sechs größten privaten Krankenversicherungen nach Marktanteil 2012 (Quelle: Statista), die sechs größten gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungen nach Mitgliederzahl 2014 (Quelle: Statista), die sieben auflagenstärksten überregionalen Tageszeitungen in Deutschland im 4. Quartal 2014 (Quelle: Statista), die sieben TV-Sender mit höchstem Marktanteil 2014 (Quelle: Statista), die drei größten Gewerkschaften des Deutschen Gewerkschaftsbundes nach Mitgliederzahl inkl. DGB und dbb (Quelle: Statista), die vier größten privaten Klinikbetreiber nach Umsatz 2013 (Quelle: Statista), die 17 größten Verbände nach Anzahl der Mitglieder (Quelle: Deutscher Bundestag - Liste über Registrierung von Verbänden) und die sechs größten Fußballvereine nach Anzahl der Facebook-Fans 2014 inkl. dem DFB (Quelle: Statista).

Darüber hinaus wurden zusätzlich folgende Organisationen des öffentlichen Sektors in die Befragung aufgenommen: Bundesagentur für Arbeit, Bundesverfassungsgericht, Bundeswehr, Bundespolizei, Bundesanstalt Technisches Hilfswerk, Bundesregierung, Europäische Zentralbank und Feuerwehr.

Insgesamt ergab sich hieraus eine Liste von 220 Unternehmen und Organisationen, welche im nächsten Schritt hinsichtlich ihrer Bekanntheit beurteilt wurden.

Schritt 2: Bekanntheitsabfrage

Lediglich die bekanntesten Unternehmen und Organisationen wurden in die Hauptbefragung aufgenommen. Um diese zu identifizieren, ließen wir in einer Voruntersuchung in Deutschland lebende Personen die Bekanntheit der in Schritt 1 ausgewählten Organisationen und Unternehmen bewerten. Es nahmen insgesamt 612 Personen an der Bekanntheitsabfrage teil (mind. 147 Bewertungen pro Organisation). Nur die 127 Unternehmen und Organisationen mit einer Bekanntheit über 4.0 auf einer Skala von 1 bis 6 gelangten in die Hauptbefragung.

Datenerhebung

Befragungszeitraum

Die anonyme Befragung erfolgte über einen Zeitraum von vier Wochen im Juli/August 2015.

Fragebogen

In einem Online-Fragebogen konnten Items auf einer Likert-Skala von 1 bis 6 bewertet werden (z.B. Stimmen Sie der folgenden Aussage zu oder lehnen Sie diese ab? Die/der (jeweilige Organisation) verhält sich anständig. 1 = lehne ab; 6 = stimme zu).

Pretests

Der Online-Fragebogen wurde einem Pretest unterzogen, um die durchschnittliche Bearbeitungszeit zu ermitteln und die Verständlichkeit der Formulierungen zu überprüfen. Neben einer quantitativen Erhebung wurde auch ein qualitativer Beobachtungs-Pretests durchgeführt, in dem die Reaktionen der Befragten bei der Bearbeitung des Fragebogens dokumentiert wurden. Insgesamt 105 Personen nahmen am Pretest teil.

Bekanntheit

Befragte konnten Organisationen in der Hauptbefragung nur dann bewerten, wenn sie ihnen ausreichend bekannt waren (Item: Hier sehen Sie nun die Namen und Logos von einigen deutschen und internationalen Unternehmen und Organisationen. Wie gut kennen Sie diese Unternehmen und Organisationen? Bitte nutzen Sie für Ihre Antwort die untenstehende Skala, wobei 1 bedeutet, Sie kennen das Unternehmen/Organisation gar nicht und können dazu keine Meinung abgeben. 6 bedeutet Sie kennen das Unternehmen/Organisation und haben eine Meinung dazu. Mit den Werten von 2 bis 5 können Sie Ihre Antwort abstufen).

Zu Beginn der Erhebung wurden die Studienteilnehmer aufgefordert, auf einer Skala von 1-6 zu bewerten, wie gut sie die einzelnen Organisationen kennen. Nur Teilnehmer, die bei der Bekanntheit den Wert 4 oder mehr angekreuzt haben, wurden aufgefordert, den Gemeinwohlbeitrag der Organisationen zu bewerten.

Gemeinwohlbeitrag

Waren die Organisationen ausreichend bekannt, erhielten die Studienteilnehmer eine Auswahl von bis zu sechs Organisationen zur Bewertung des Gemeinwohlbeitrags.

Die Messung des Gemeinwohlbeitrags erfolgte in den vier Dimensionen Aufgabenerfüllung, Zusammenhalt, Lebensqualität und Moral:

  • Aufgabenerfüllung: Die/Der jeweilige Organisation leistet im Kerngeschäft gute Arbeit.
  • Zusammenhalt: Die/Der jeweilige Organisation trägt zum Zusammenhalt in Deutschland bei.
  • Lebensqualität: Die/Der jeweilige Organisation trägt zur Lebensqualität in Deutschland bei.
  • Moral: Die/Der jeweilige Organisation verhält sich anständig.

Die Messung des Gemeinwohlbeitrags anhand von Single-Item-Measures basiert auf Ergebnissen aus früheren Studien (siehe dazu Meynhardt und Bartholomes, 2011 sowie Strathoff und Bilolo, 2014).

Datenauswertung

Scorebildung

Der Gemeinwohl-Score gibt Auskunft darüber, wie der Beitrag von Organisationen zum Gemeinwohl von der deutschen Bevölkerung wahrgenommen wird. Er berechnet sich aus dem ungewichteten Durchschnitt der Bewertungen in den vier Gemeinwohl-Dimensionen. Organisationen, die insgesamt gut abgeschnitten haben, weisen in allen vier Dimensionen einen hohen Wertbeitrag auf.

Jede der 127 nationalen und internationalen Organisationen wurde von mindestens 207 in Deutschland lebenden Personen bewertet.

Die Gemeinwohl-Scores bewegen sich zwischen den Werten 5.72 und 2.37. Diese Werte sind für die untersuchte Stichprobe, d.h. die befragten Personen, gültig bzw. „wahr“. Möchte man allerdings auf dahinterliegende „wahre Werte“ schließen, die für eine gesamte Population gelten können, muss man sich eines statistischen Hilfsmittels bedienen – des Konfidenzintervalls. Das Konfidenzintervall gibt einen Bereich bzw. ein Intervall an, innerhalb dessen der „wahre“ Wert mit einer bestimmten Wahrscheinlichkeit liegt. Damit wird man der Schwankung bzw. Varianz in den Antworten und der Anzahl befragter Personen gerecht. Für die Einteilung der Gruppen wurde ein Konfidenzintervall mit dem Konfidenzniveau von 99.9% festgelegt. Dies bedeutet, dass wir zu 99.9% davon ausgehen können, dass der „wahre“ Wert sich innerhalb des ermittelten Wertebereiches zwischen der oberen und unteren Grenze des Intervalls befindet. Je höher man das Konfidenzniveau wählt und damit das Risiko einer Fehleinschätzung mindert, desto breiter wird das Intervall. Dieses Konfidenzintervall wird für jede Organisation neu berechnet, da die Organisationen sich in ihren Charakteristika unterscheiden: Der Anzahl befragter Personen, der Varianz bzw. Standardabweichung und dem Mittelwert.

Gruppeneinteilung

Das gleiche Prinzip des Konfidenzintervalls wurde auch für den Mittelwert aller Organisationen angewendet, der die Grundlage für die Gruppeneinteilung der Organisation bildet. Denn auch dieser Mittelwert ist geschätzt und schwankt abhängig von den Schwankungen der Mittelwerte der Organisationen.

Eine Organisation gelangt demnach in die Spitzengruppe, wenn der niedrigste Wert ihres Konfidenzintervalls über dem höchsten Wert des Konfidenzintervalls des Mittelwertes aller Organisationen liegt. Denn nur dann können wir behaupten, dass der Mittelwert der jeweiligen Organisation zu 99.9% über dem Mittelwert aller Organisationen liegt. So kann es mitunter passieren, dass eine Organisation zwar einen höheren Mittelwert hat, aber im Vergleich zu Organisationen der Spitzengruppe mit niedrigerem Wert nicht in diese Gruppe kommt, da die Schwankung der Antworten und damit das Konfidenzintervall zu groß ist. Dann überschneiden sich die Konfidenzintervalle der Organisation und die des Mittelwertes aller Organisationen und die Organisation wird dem Mittelfeld zugeordnet.

Im umgekehrten Fall gelangt eine Organisation in die Gruppe der Geforderten bzw. Schlussgruppe, wenn der höchste Wert ihres Konfidenzintervalls unterhalb des niedrigsten Wertes des Konfidenzintervalls des Mittelwertes aller Organisationen liegt. Mehr Infos hierzu in den FAQ.

Limitationen

Der GemeinwohlAtlas zeigt den Gemeinwohlbeitrag von großen und bekannten internationalen und nationalen Organisationen und Unternehmen in Deutschland. Damit stellt er nur einen Ausschnitt aller der in Deutschland bedeutenden Organisationen dar.

Bei den Ergebnissen des GemeinwohlAtlas handelt es sich um eine Momentaufnahme. Vergleiche hinsichtlich der Entwicklung des Gemeinwohlbeitrags einzelner Organisation im Zeitverlauf sind daher noch nicht möglich. Es wird interessant sein, die Entwicklung in nachfolgenden Datenerhebungen über weitere Messzeitpunkte hinweg zu beobachten.

Es ist zu beachten, dass sich die Ergebnisse auf einen spezifischen kulturellen Kontext beziehen. Zum Beispiel kann der Beitrag zum Gemeinwohl von Organisationen, die international tätig sind, in anderen Ländern und Kulturkreisen anders eingeschätzt werden. Vergleiche mit anderen Kulturkreisen sind nur bei Durchführung der Studie in anderen Ländern möglich.

Die Studie wurde 2014 sowie 2015 in der Schweiz durchgeführt (GemeinwohlAtlas Schweiz). Hier sind bereits Entwicklungen des Gemeinwohlbeitrages über die Zeit hinweg für einige Organisationen nachvollziehbar.